Home > Help Desk > Knowledge Base > Multichannel Engage > Settings > Facebook > Facebook Trouble Shooting

Facebook Trouble Shooting

Table of contents

Trouble Shooting

 

  1. Re-Authorization

 

If there are any changes to the Facebook Account or Facebook Page, the Facebook Account will need to be re-authorized within Multichannel.  This is done in 2 steps:

 

  • Delete the Facebook Account
  • Re-add the Facebook Account

 

 

  1. Facebook needs reauthorizing every 60 days

 

Every 60 days an email will be sent to the email address of the user who created / last authorized Multichannel to be able to administer the Fb Page.

 

When this is required there will be no more posts received from / sent to this Facebook page by Multichannel.

 

The settings in Multichannel for Facebook will no longer show as being enabled nor will they have a valid access token for each of the pages that need re-authorizing;

 

 

Additionally the view status on the Account User ID will display the date / time that the access token expired as well as the date / time that the access token expires notification was sent.  The email address that is stored against the Created By user name (vickiadmin in this example) contains the email address where this reauthorization email has been sent.

 

 

 

The email that is received will appear as follows:

 

 

 

Click on the ‘re-authorize LiveOps Social’ link in the email and screen displays;

 

 

Using the Facebook Account email address and password log in to Facebook. 

 

Click on to the Go To App button

Click on the Allow button

 

Once Facebook has reauthorized the following window will appear which you can in turn close;

 

 

After the next polling interval the Facebook page(s) will once again be enabled and have a valid access token:

 

 

If you view the Account User ID details the display will show a new access token expiry date / time and there will no longer be any detail for the Access Token Expires Notification Sent:

 

 

  1. Facebook Posts not appearing on Account Owners Page

 

Posts that are deemed by Facebook to potentially be spam are delivered to Multichannel for processing but the actual post (and any subsequent reply) is contained in a spam area within the Facebook Account.  Only the Admin person for the Facebook Page is able to locate these posts and they can optionally remove them from being regarded as spam.  

 

Within the Facebook Account itself any post currently on a public page can also have the status of the post changed so that it is considered spam.   Thus a post can be removed from the Facebook page and hidden from all except the Account admin person.

 

There does not appear to be a definitive list of reasons why a post may be treated as spam but 1 example of a post being treated as spam is where an account holder has no friends, these accounts can be suspicious and any posts they make can potentially be spammed automatically by Facebook.

 

This is beyond the control of Multichannel as we are only allowed to carry out administration on the Facebook Account page, not the associated admin sections for the account.

 

The posts that are treated as spam will be delivered to your Multichannel instance and you can successfully reply to them and you can click on the Facebook icon and view the inbound and outbound response but only the administrator on the page can access and view the posts in question.

 

Whenever there is an issue regarding, ‘Why can’t I see the post I added to ‘abc’ page? Then the following needs to be checked within Facebook itself:

 

  • Log in to the account on Facebook
  • Select the Facebook page that has had a missing post reported against it
  • Click on Manage, screen displays;

 

 

 

Select the activity log as displayed above, screen displays;

 

 

Click on the All drop down list as displayed above and select the Spam option, screen displays:

 

Any posts that have been treated as spam will be displayed here.  To change the spam setting click on the hidden from spam icon

 

 

 

Select the option ‘Unmark as Spam’

 

Once done the post will now appear where it is visible to all:

 

 

 

 

Should you wish to treat a post as spam – that is remove it from being visible to all then click on the remove icon for the post:

 

 

Once clicked the screen will display:

 

 

Select either the option = Report / Mark as Spam or the option = Hidden from Page.

 

The post will be removed from public view and will now appear back in the spam section of the activity log.

 

  1. Add new Facebook page results in error as follows

 

 

 

Please contact your LiveOps Reseller as the issues may relate to the security access and key and may need to be updated.

You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.