Home > Help Desk > Knowledge Base > Call Center Voice Platform > Workforce Management > Permission Groups

Permission Groups

Table of contents
No headers

What are Permission Groups?

The Cloud Contact Center Platform aggregates users into groups based on shared permissions. These are called "Permission Groups," or just "Groups" for short. All Contact Centers will contain at least two Permission Groups: Agents and Admins. Most will contain a few more Groups, depending on your needs. Access to Contact Center features is based on Permission Group membership: Agents do not have access to the same features as Admins, for example. Using Permission Groups makes it possible to show only the features you want to specific groups of users.

Creation and configuration of Permission Groups is something only Staff can do. As a Contact Center Administrator, though, you can add users to and remove users from the Groups already in existence in your Call Center.

 

Attributes vs. Permissions

In Chapter 5, we presented Routing Attributes as an integral part of the Cloud Contact Center Platform call routing system. While call routing is indeed their primary function, Attributes are also used to grant access to features within a Contact Center.

So, what is the difference between Attributes and Permissions? In general, Attributes control access to Agent related features, while Permissions control access to Administrator features. While only staff can manipulate Permissions, Contact Center Administrators can create and configure Attributes, customizing both routing and feature access for their own Agents.

 

Adding Users to Groups

There are two ways to add users to Groups:

 

  1. By editing the user's profile—add a single user to one or more Groups
  2. By using the Group's "Add by User Name" tool—add one or more users to a single Group

 

1. Edit a Single User

 

  1. Click the User Accounts menu item, then select Edit Users
  2. Locate the user you want to Add, then click that user's "Edit" link
  3. Select the user's Account Status tab
  4. Check the Groups this user should belong to. Users can be members of more than one group
  5. Click the Save Changes button

 

2. Add by User Name

 

  1. Click the User Accounts menu item, then select Edit Groups
  2. Click the name of the Group to which you wish to add users
  3. Select the Add by user name tab
  4. Enter the user name of each user to add. Separate multiple user names with a space (you can also put them on separate lines)
  5. Click Add
  6. You will see a dialog asking you to confirm the addition. If you try to add a user name that already exists in that group, or you try to add a user name that doesn't exist, Call Center will tell you so and skip that user name
  7. Click Add again to complete the transaction

 

Removing Users from Groups

There are three ways to remove users from Groups:

  1. By editing the user Profile—remove a single user from one or more Groups
  2. By editing the Group's Current users list—remove one or more users from a single Group
  3. By using the Group's Remove by user Name tool—remove one or more users from a single Group

 

1. Edit User

 

  1. Click the User Accounts menu item, then select Edit Users
  2. Locate the user you want to remove, then click that user's "Edit" link
  3. Select the user's Account Status tab
  4. Uncheck the Groups this user should not belong to
  5. Click the Save Changes button

 

2. Edit the Group's Current Users list

 

  1. Click the User Accounts menu item, then select Edit Groups
  2. Click the name of the Group from which you wish to remove users
  3. Use the checkboxes to select each user you wish to remove
  4. Click Remove
  5. You will see a dialog asking you to confirm the removal
  6. Click Remove again to complete the transaction

 

3. Remove by User Name

 

  1. Click the User Accounts menu item, then select Edit Groups
  2. Click the name of the Group from which you wish to remove users
  3. Select the Remove by user name tab
  4. Enter the user name of each user to remove. Separate multiple user names with a space (you can also put them on separate lines)
  5. Click Remove
  6. You will see a dialog asking you to confirm the removal. If you try to remove a user name that isn't currently a member of that group, or you try to remove a user name that doesn't exist, Call Center will tell you so and skip that user name
  7. Click Remove again to complete the transaction

 

  • The confirmation dialogs do not contain a "Cancel" button. If you wish to abort adding or removing users, use your browser's "Back" button to navigate away from the page without completing the transaction.
You must to post a comment.
Last modified

Tags

This page has no custom tags.

Classifications

This page has no classifications.